Read-Alikes: All The Bright places

If you’re like us, so you want books to break your heart and leave you an emotional mess, and if you read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven at least twice, watched the movie and read the book again, then you are at the right place.

We are bringing you a list of must-reads for your little masochist heart.

Lovely, Dark and Deep by Amy McNamara

Survivors guilt, trying to escape from yourself and others, friendship that was not supposed to be. Beautiful lyrical writing. Prepare a notebook and your favorite pen because you will want to write down all the amazing quotes so you can go back to them later.

Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Road trip with the ashes of your dead sister. Okay, when you put it like that, is does sound morbid but bear with me. It is a heartbreaking story about sibling’s bond and loss and music.

Hug your brothers and/or sisters when you finish this and tell them how much you love them.

Sing Me To Sleep by Angela Morrison

The worst part of this book is the summary. Just skip it and dive into the book itself. Prepare a lot of tissues and hot chocolate or cup of tea to help you deal afterwards.

Remember how thorn your heat was after All The Bright Places? Well, multiply that with 10 and add a box of cookies along that cup of tea.

If He Had Been With Me by Laura Nowlin

Easiest way to describe this book is “what ifs”. Starting from the end, it takes you back and shows you what could have happened. But you already know what happened, and that is what makes it so heartbreaking. It is a quite dark story and be ready to put the book down a couple of times so you can just breathe for a few minutes.

Happy reading everyone, have a weekend full of bookishly induced tears.

Until the next time,

Amra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *