Interview with Sasha Laurens, Author of A Wicked Magic

SASHA LAURENS was raised in San Francisco and Northern California, where she learned to drive on Highway 1’s switchback turns and got accustomed to the best weather in the world. She started taking writing classes at 826 Valencia in high school, and would have minored in Creative Writing at Columbia University, if the minor hadn’t been eliminated. Instead, Sasha studied Russian Literature, and graduated summa cum laude.

Upon graduation she moved to St. Petersburg, Russia, and attempted to write a literary novel, unsurprisingly about Americans living in St. Petersburg, Russia. Returning to New York City, she earned an M.A. in Russian Regional Studies from Columbia University while working at the university. Since 2014, she been pursuing her PhD in political science at the University Michigan, and currently resides in Ann Arbor.

Writing and political science take up almost all of her time, but when she gets a break she loves boxing, watching bad reality tv, and traveling.

A Wicked Magic is her first novel (Razorbill, July 2020).

Sasha Laurens ( Photo: Devi Mays )
Continue reading Interview with Sasha Laurens, Author of A Wicked Magic

Read-Alikes: All The Bright places

If you’re like us, so you want books to break your heart and leave you an emotional mess, and if you read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven at least twice, watched the movie and read the book again, then you are at the right place.

We are bringing you a list of must-reads for your little masochist heart.

Continue reading Read-Alikes: All The Bright places

We know everything about YA books!