All posts by Amra

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

I don’t know if that is only me or other readers experience this too, but it feels like older I get it is harder to find books I will so easily proclaim as “perfect”, “amazing”, “favorite”. So when I say all of those things for the latest Elizabeth Acevedo novel, you can definitely be sure that I mean it with my whole heart.

Clap When You Land is a novel in verse and a great example of “own voices” in young adult literature. Written by Acevedo, daughter of Dominican immigrants in the USA, Clap When You Land tells a story about complex cultural identity and family ties. It starts with an airplane crash and a way how its consequences determine the lives of two seemingly unconnected teenage girls, Camino from the Dominican Republic and Yahaira from New York.

Continue reading Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

Read-Alikes: All The Bright places

If you’re like us, so you want books to break your heart and leave you an emotional mess, and if you read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven at least twice, watched the movie and read the book again, then you are at the right place.

We are bringing you a list of must-reads for your little masochist heart.

Continue reading Read-Alikes: All The Bright places